April 22, 2024

Pioneer Co-op AGM Highlights
2023 – Record Sales and Exciting Plans for the Future

The Pioneer Co-op Annual General Meeting was held on April 18, 2024. Pioneer Co-op members were informed of another record-breaking year, as well as a number of new investments and advancements that were achieved in 2023, as well as significant plans for 2024. CEO Larry Kozun states, “We are very pleased with the support we get from our membership. Our diverse portfolio has enabled us to continue to grow our various divisions, and provide essential services to our members all across our trading area. Our earnings are made in Southwest Saskatchewan, and they stay here. We generate sustainable value; market returns and long-term profitability for Pioneer Coop members.”

Karla Clifton, Pioneer Co-op Controller has reported that the Pioneer Co-op Board of Directors approved a 2023 return to its members of $14.6 million in patronage allocation, which was a result of over $383 million in sales, another record year for Pioneer Coop! Board member Mac Forster announced the percentages for the patronage allocation will be Food (2.5%), Hardware/Lumber/Plumbing (1%), Pharmacy (5%), Agro (5%), Fertilizer (1%), Service Station (5.25%), Farm Fuel (6%), Wine/Spirits (2%). Forster also reported that Pioneer Co-op put a significant amount of money back into the community through our Member Relations Committee, which totaled $135,000 to various groups and organizations across Southwest Saskatchewan, in addition to long term commitments to large fundraising initiatives that will effect members from all across Southwest Saskatchewan.

2023 was also a year for several major business improvements across Pioneer Co-op, which included a new Tire Shop in Bracken, a new Farm Centre in Eastend, upgraded refrigeration at the Wheatland Mall grocery store, electronic shelf label system at all of our Food Centres, a new fuel truck and pup, and the acquisition of our new South Service Rd service station (formerly Husky).

The 2024 AGM also saw the election of two new members to the Board of Directors – Tim Miller of Shaunavon, and Brad Pederson of Roseray. Mac Forster also retained his seat. All three will join the Pioneer Co-op Board of Directors on a 3 year term.

“I want to thank our Senior Leadership Team, Division Managers, Team Leaders, and Team Members. This team works tirelessly to support Pioneer Coop. They are fully committed to ensure Pioneer Coop is not only meeting the challenges of today but leading Pioneer Coop to a stronger and more sustainable tomorrow. We are proud of this team of what we will accomplish together going forward”, said Kozun.

For further information, please contact: Larry Kozun, CEO, Pioneer Co-op
(306) 778-8809 or